New Year’s Resolution Jar – A Twist On The Memory Jar

I have seen memory jars on Pinterest before, and they are a really cute concept.  The idea is that you write down any good memories you make throughout the year and then the following year you open your jar and read all the good things that have happened, like a time capsule of your memories.

So this year I have decided to this, but instead it will be for my 2014 New Year’s Resolutions… next new year I will be able to look back and see all the things I did (or didn’t) achieve.  Every time I see the jar it will be a reminder to stick to my goals so I can say I succeeded.  This is also a good little project to get your kids involved in, they can decorate their own jars and learn about setting goals, and the accomplishment they feel when they achieve them.

Here’s how I made mine:

 ScissorsCrop2Tools Required:

An old glass jar with a lid
Hot glue gun
Hot glue gun glue
Paint of your color choice
Paint brush
Pen & paper
String or wool
Scissors

Directions:

  1. Follow steps 1 & 2 on my DIY EMBOSSED GLASS post.
  2. Once glue is dry, paint jar and lid with your choice of colour and allow to dry (you will probably need 2 coats), I used acrylic paint, but you could use spray paint if you are more skilled than I am.
  3. Cut some paper up into strips and write down your resolutions, roll the resolutions up and secure with string or wool.
  4. Place them all in the jar and close the lid, tie around some of your string or wool for extra decoration.

I think I might make one for memories too which I can open at Christmas.

Resolution_Mason_Jar_1

Resolution_Mason_Jar_2

Resolution_Mason_Jar_3

Resolution_Mason_Jar_5

Resolution_Mason_Jar_7

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution Jar – A Twist On The Memory Jar

  1. I like the added touch of tying the tubs of paper with yarn or string! It’s a thoughtful touch- and those tend to make projects all the more special.

Leave a Reply

